How to finance a photography project?

 

New Year just started and I have to make a decision: how to finance my photography project ‘How to wear a scarf’?

Should I first apply for funds and then create images, promote and organize an exhibition?

OR

Should I create images first and then build an interest around the project, through entering competitions and promoting online?

There advantages and disadvantages in both situations. Writing a proposal to apply for funds is very time consuming and can take juice out of the whole creative process of taking images. Also I will have to agree to terms and conditions of the organization which will fund my project.

On the other hand, the financial piece of mind can speed up the organization and promotional part of work. Also in the first case I will have a full control of the project, exhibition and promotional material. In second case, after producing the images, I will have to still look for money or support in kind to be able to organize an exhibition.

Difficult decision…

This entry was posted in Managing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment